Pixalise Shader Help with GDScript Control

JayBananaJayBanana Posts: 13Member

Hi,

I'm very new to Godot and I'm hoping to make a pixalise / pixalize Shader for a transition.
As you can see below I have the Shader code sorted and the scene nodes are ready - a white TextureRect is overlayed on the background image sprite. I've got this far, but I have no idea how to control it in GDScript, how are variables passed between the Script and the Shader language?

The Shader is meant to create a pixalated effect that either starts pixalated at a high value such as 0.0008 then loops down to it's original state, or the opposite direction in a similar manner. Great for old-school platform games etc.

I did see mentioned online that it can be accomplished by:
CanvasItemMaterial's set_shader_param method

But I have no idea how to script this in GDScript.

Any help for a beginner would be appreciated!

Answers

• TwistedTwiglegTwistedTwigleg Posts: 1,049Admin

This Godot QA answer shows how to set variables in a shader using GDScript. You just need to use the set_shader_param and get_shader_param functions exposed by the ShaderMaterial class.

I never remember this myself, so every time I need to do this for my shaders I have to do a Google search to remind myself how this all works :lol:

Hopefully this helps! :smile:

• JayBananaJayBanana Posts: 13Member

Thanks TwistedTwigleg, I saw this post you provided in your link, I attempted to tackle it earlier, but I got quite stuck. I just couldn't apply it to my example - I'm still very much a beginner with Godot.

Any chance of a snippet of code to help please?

Sure. You are needing to change size_x and size_y so it goes from 1 to 0.008 smoothly, correct? If so, then in theory something like this should let you transition the shader:

# NOTE: I'm assuming the script is on the Node2DLevel node!
    extends Node2D

var shader_material;
    var shader_strength = 1;
    const LOWEST_SHADER_STRENGTH = 0.008;