any advice for a future indie dev?

David8991David8991 Posts: 5Member
edited January 10 in General Chat

Hello everyone. im new to programming but im working towards building my skills in Gdscript. i follow tutorials and then work without them to see how much of it ive retained. my question is how can i improve on this what are some things you guys do to improve? i know eventually the tutorials will run out and that will mean a dead end for me. any tips, rules of thumb or guides will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

Tags :

Answers

• SchusterSchuster Posts: 322Member
    Answer ✓

make projects / prototypes/demos the more you will be better you can also participate in different game jams.... create your own library / database of different game mechanics, learn how to use custom signals and global scripts.

• TwistedTwiglegTwistedTwigleg Posts: 1,000Admin
    Answer ✓

I would suggest following tutorials and other learning resources initially, as it can help you learn the ropes with making games. I would follow tutorials you find interesting. I would also suggest trying multiple different game engines so you can learn how game mechanics work across multiple different frameworks/engines/programming-languages, and so you can find the engine you like working with the best.

Once you feel ready, I would suggest making prototype games and/or implement popular game mechanics without necessarily following tutorials and other learning resources step by step.

Following tutorials and then making my own prototypes really helped me understand what I was learning in the beginning. Many of these prototypes never got beyond a single level, if even that, but it really helped cement what I was learning and gave me confidence that I maybe could actually make a game.