RigidBody's moment of inertia: how is it calculated/edited?

DanHugoDanHugo Posts: 2Member

How does Godot 3 determine the moment of inertia of a RigidBody? For example, does it take the collision shapes, assume the rigid body's mass is uniformly distributed throughout their volume, and compute the tensor accordingly, or does it use some other method?

Can I edit the tensor programmatically? Eg like how Unity exposes inertiaTensor and inertiaTensorRotation to override the values computed from colliders.

(Forgive me if this is covered elsewhere, but I was unable to find anything else in the docs, and I'm only new to Godot. The only thing the documentation has to say about rotation is "float angular_damp - Damps RigidBody’s rotational forces." That's it. Not a very physical description.)

Tagged:

Tags :

Answers

• TwistedTwiglegTwistedTwigleg Posts: 1,043Admin
    Answer ✓

Good question! Unfortunately, I have no idea on the answer. This might be best asked on the Facebook/Reddit/IRC/Discord and/or the Github repository where there are more C++ Godot developers who are more experienced with Godot’s core and may be able to answer your question.

I know that Andrea Catania on Github wrote the bindings to allow Godot to use Bullet Physics, so he’d probably have the best chance of knowing.

As for editing the tensor programmatically, I do not think it is possible. Perhaps with the _intergrate_forces function you could, but as far as I know with Bullet Physics the _intergrate_forces function is not working for RigidBody nodes.

• DanHugoDanHugo Posts: 2Member
    edited December 2018

Thanks for the response, TwistedTwigleg. :) I'll check out the Reddit. Just curious... when you say "_intergrate_forces function is not working for RigidBody nodes", what do you mean exactly?