Autonomous agents behaviours

GresilleSiffleGresilleSiffle Posts: 12Member
edited August 30 in Programming

Hi everyone :)

I'm new to game development and I'm currently experimenting with autonomous agents steering behaviours in 2D environment. My goal is to simulate the flocking behavior of birds described in the nature of code book, and at the end I would like to have something like this.

Step by step I've learned basic behaviours such seek and flee, pursue and evade, wander, etc. I'm going to publish everything on Bitbucket, one repository for each behaviour. I think it can be useful for newcomers like me, or in fact anyone interested, to see a behaviour in action and tweak some values in Godot to see what happens !

Here is my implementation of seek:

https://bitbucket.org/gresille_siffle/godot2d_autonomousagents_behaviour_seek/src/master/

... and it looks like this:

It's a little raw for the moment, and there is no way to interact with the boids except moving the mouse to change their direction. I've also made a UI (keyboard only) allowing to display and hide the forces, the targets, and the UI itself.

Feel free to download the project and take a look, I'll be glad to receive comments on everything, and specially on the UI scene. It's my first UI so maybe the wrong control nodes :blush:

See ya

Tagged:

Tags :

Comments

• GresilleSiffleGresilleSiffle Posts: 12Member

I just published the pursue behaviour:

https://bitbucket.org/gresille_siffle/godot2d_autonomousagents_behaviour_pursue/src/master/

The two red agents pursue the yellow one by anticipating its future position, instead of just following it. The prediction is made by adding to the current target position its velocity, multiplied by an anticipation factor. The more the target is far, the more the factor is big.