Best way to add/ import intro animation?

redruM-110redruM-110 Posts: 12Member

Hi All,

So, I have a ten second animation (with an accompanying MP3 track) lined up, but aren't sure of the best way (or, indeed, any way) of adding these to Godot. If anyone could point me in the direction of a good tutorial for this- or give me a reasonable explanation, I'd be very grateful (all the tutorials I've found so far seem to involve sprite animations, or background animations created with Godot).

I'm pretty new to Godot- just at the stage of going through tutorials and making very basic programs, but am quite experienced in Gimp (which I used to create the animation) and, less so, Audacity- so I can have the animation as an MP4, AVI, or even the 70-odd individual JPG frames if this is easier. The native Godot animation formats do confuse me though- are they easy to convert to?

Cheers,

Dom

Tagged:

Tags :

Answers

• redruM-110redruM-110 Posts: 12Member

Oh, and here's the animation if it helps...

• KitKatKitKat Posts: 7Member
    Answer ✓

I'm going to make this brief, use this node. If you don't know how to use nodes. Ask away.
    http://docs.godotengine.org/en/stable/classes/class_videoplayer.html?highlight=video

Thanks, KitKat, I've just converted it into an OGV (this is about the fifth different format I've converted it to for one thing or another!) and I'll have a crack at it as soon as I've got time :)

• RayekRayek Posts: 21Member

Expanding on this question: is it possible to jump to a specific time in a video stream (random access)? And is it possible to jump from video A [time X] to video B [time Y]? Also wondering if OGV and Godot allow for flagging specific frames in the video stream to fire events in sync with the video play.

Yeah, that worked, thanks.

But it's led to another problem (nothing's ever simple!): the animation's visuals don't sync with the audio- even though the OGV file plays fine by itself.